Payback

8 May

It’s funny how everything can be going so well. And then suddenly it’s not. You wake up one morning, feeling okay…fine…excited.

First, it’s not a big deal, just a minor inconvenience. Then, it becomes setbacks. But eventually, it all piles up.

You stop smiling.

You start getting irritated…angry…frustrated.

Others start asking if you’re okay.

You start lying, “I’m great!”

“I’m good.”

“I’m fine.”

“I’m okay.”

“I’m okay.”

“I’m okay.”

You force a smile when people mention you seem different. Quiet. Tired. You laugh and brush it off.

Because maybe if you convince them, you’ll start to believe it too. You’re okay. You’re okay. You’re okay. You’re okay. You’re okay. You’re okay. I’m not okay…

Perhaps this is the price you pay. What goes up must come down. Those moments of joy, of happiness… Perhaps this is the cost of the laughter, the smiles.

What if I just close my eyes

And drift away

Simply ceasing to exist.

Good night.

.

perfectlonelyworld

Leave a Reply

